It is best practice in CRM to never to delete a user but to archive them. Why? If you delete a user it is permanent and you have no access to their historical information should they decide to return.
An archived user however is removed from all activity, including opportunities, personas and email marketing. They will not generate a lead score if they navigate your website and they are effectively hidden across all activity unless you specifically filter for archived users.